Skip to content

It’s almost Christmas! A little update about me.

December 16, 2011

It is definetively my favorite time of the year.
This time all my thoughts are for all of you who helped me, joining the raffle, writing wonderful mails, sending me little, unexpected gifts.
I really have no words to thank you all.I would love to hug each one of you.
The total raffle amount was amazing and will help me at last for one year for the instalments, year in wich I hope to set my job/financial life better.
My life is always hard, unfortunately.With the taxes bill it has been added a lack of work.
There’s a terrible crisis now in Italy, like in all the world of course, nobody is hiring free lance consultants as I am because all the fashion industries, the ones that are still surviving, prefer to use to the max people who are already employed, forcing them to work the double or triple and paying them the same as before, if they are lucky.
So now the little jobs I have are little indeed and very poorly paid.I don’t think this situation will change soon or that depends on my curriculum, which is a good one.I only think everything is changing around the world and we all have to start from ourselves.
So I’m closing my Vat number at the end of december and I will use the next year investing on myself, at last everything will depend only on me, which is so scary but necessary too.
I’m trying to do new things, you already have seen my necklaces project, but I’m getting myself involved with the local craft community more and more, working on workshops, offering myself to teach people/children to do things, learning the joy of creating, feeling more the community, trying to learn a new work methodology.I think is the only chance we have right now to change the bad money system that brought us here. At last is the only chance I have right now.
I’m moved to tears now, I really can’t express how thankful I am to all of you.
Thank you for helping me, thank you for caring, thank you for being real people.
And, even if it seems weird, thank you to the crisis for kicking me in the ass and possibly making me being more close to the person I really want to be.
I know it will be an atypical Christmas for many of us: be strong, don’t be shy to share your sorrows and fears, protect your family.
I’m not Catholic but I send you a whole world of blessings.
LOVE

20 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2011 4:33 pm

    Ti voglio tanto be’!

  2. December 16, 2011 4:40 pm

    You are so sweet Gaia. I wish you nothing but the best as it’s what you deserve.

    I think it’s wonderful you are branching out into the local craft communities and workshops. I bet everyone big and small appreciates it and adores you.

  3. Mimsy permalink
    December 16, 2011 4:42 pm

    So touching and so true ! I wish you the best of lucks in your new enterprises. ❤

  4. Ester permalink
    December 16, 2011 4:59 pm

    Dear Gaia,

    I so understand your feelings as life hit my family in the face this year also. Since August my husband lost his job and I had to sell my Blythe family exept one.We struggle to pay the bills and having enough to eat at the same time! (and 4 teenagers eat a lot, lol) I refuse to give up and your ‘story’ also helps me to move on! Thank you! Hugs, Ester (Shimmering Magic)

  5. December 16, 2011 5:20 pm

    Belladezzìo!

  6. December 16, 2011 5:22 pm

    Awwww, Gaia! You are the greatest! We all love you dearly and wish you only the very best!!! ^____^

  7. Ole permalink
    December 16, 2011 6:28 pm

    Dear gaia-

    you are such a lovely person.
    I wish you all the BEST!

    Ole

  8. Iris Blakk permalink
    December 16, 2011 6:51 pm

    We HEART you Gaia!!!! :-* :-*

  9. anjo nehmelman permalink
    December 16, 2011 7:11 pm

    Gaia i love your soul ! stay strong and yourselve .
    Wishing you the very best ,big hug XXXXXX…

  10. love_cats permalink
    December 16, 2011 10:15 pm

    Cara Gaia,

    un abbraccio grande e un in bocca al lupo per i tuoi progetti futuri. Di sicuro riuscirai a realizzare quello in cui credi perchè sei speciale e piena di creatività.
    Non è un gran momento quello che ci si presenta in Italia ma come dici tu bisogna essere forti e andare avanti….

    Auguroni perchè il 2012 sia come tu lo vuoi e porti buone nuove per tutti.

    Paola

  11. Sara/PrincessTomato permalink
    December 16, 2011 11:52 pm

    As troubling as this crisis has been for you I’m so glad to see that it has helped you connect with yourself an your true goals. Stay strong Gaia~ we’re all rooting for you. ❤

  12. Vale permalink
    December 17, 2011 8:57 am

  13. kathi_minikatie permalink
    December 17, 2011 6:13 pm

    Well said hun and all the best to you in 2012!!

  14. December 17, 2011 7:26 pm

    *hugs* to you!

  15. lorda permalink
    December 17, 2011 8:25 pm

    I am not Catholic too but I believe in people, in yours and others people
    thank you for your hugs and I hope you don’t need more help, but it was a pleasure
    good luck gaia
    lorda

  16. rita neves permalink
    December 17, 2011 11:32 pm

    We never now what is juat around the corner!! So we should always help a friend! Love! rita katita

  17. Snoopy. permalink
    December 17, 2011 11:40 pm

    I have. The funniest feeling this is all going to work out for the best. :). So proud of you.

  18. December 18, 2011 9:01 am

    I just want to say that I’m reading all your comments and smiling.I’m receiving many mails from people having the same problems/difficult moment I have.
    People who lost their job, taxes to pay, houses getting lost.
    I really thank you and think we really have to stay strong and help each other.
    Try to find your own courage, help yourself, cry if necessary.Try to sleep to rest (if you can’t, take some help), sleeping is so important.Tell about your problems to your truly friends and be brave.
    Love you all.

  19. December 18, 2011 2:38 pm

    You’re are such a talent person, very creative and sweet. I’m sure your new craft project is a good idea. You know I’m supporting you !
    bisous

  20. December 21, 2011 12:23 am

    Hang in there,Gaia. The feds are coming after my family also for back taxes. Whenever I start to feel desperate, I just keep telling myself that they “can’t get blood out of a turnip.”

Leave a Reply

